Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio


Minister of Transport
Current Minister:
Hon Michael Wood
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Transport
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Kiri Allan

Responsibilities include investment in transport infrastructure and services, regulation, and developing the transport system to maximise economic and social benefits while minimising


Ministry of Transport

Crown entities: 

Civil Aviation Authority of New Zealand
Maritime New Zealand
New Zealand Transport Agency
Transport Accident Investigation Commission

PFA schedule organisations: 

City Rail Link Limited (Schedule 4A)


Vote Transport


Airport Authorities Act 1966
Auckland Airport Act 1987
Civil Aviation Act 1990
Government Roading Powers Act 1989
Land Transport Act 1998
Land Transport Management Act 2003
Land Transport (Speed Limits Validation and Other Matters) Act 2015
Maritime Security Act 2004
Maritime Transport Act 1994
Meteorological Services Act 1990
Port Companies Act 1988
Railways Act 2005
Road User Charges Act 2012
Ship Registration Act 1992
Shipping Act 1987
Submarine Cables and Pipelines Protection Act 1996
Transport Accident Investigation Commission Act 1990
Wellington Airport Act 1990

Last updated: 
Monday, 12 October 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.