Back to top anchor
Ministerial Portfolio

Primary Industries

Minister for Primary Industries
Current Minister:
Hon Nathan Guy
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister for Primary Industries
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Louise Upston

Ministry for Primary Industries

Crown entities: 

New Zealand Walking Access Commission

State Owned Enterprises: 

Animal Control Products Ltd1

PFA schedule organisations: 

Agricultural and Marketing Research and Development Trust (Schedule 4)

Other organisations: 

Biosecurity Ministerial Advisory Committee
Catch History Review Committee
National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee
National Animal Welfare Advisory Committee
Deer Industry New Zealand
New Zealand Fishing Industry Board
New Zealand Horticulture Export Authority
New Zealand Kiwifruit Board
New Zealand Meat Board
New Zealand Pork Industry Board
Pest Management Strategy Advisory Committee
Quota Appeal Authority
Wool Board Disestablishment Company Ltd


Vote Primary Industries


Agricultural and Pastoral Societies Act 1908
Airports (Cost Recovery for Processing of International Travellers) Act 2014
Animal Control Products Limited Act 1991
Animal Identification Act 1993
Animal Welfare Act 1999
Aquaculture Reform (Repeals and Transitional Provisions) Act 2004
Biosecurity Act 1993
Biosecurity Law Reform Act 2012
Commodity Levies Act 1990
Dairy Industry Restructuring Act 2001
Driftnet Prohibition Act 1991
Fisheries Act 1983
Fisheries Act 1996
Fishing Industry Board Repeal Act 2001
Fisheries (Quota Operations Validation) Act 1997
Forestry Encouragement Act 1962
Forestry Rights Registration Act 1983
Forests Act 1949
Forests (West Coast Accord) Act 2000
Hop Industry Restructuring Act 2003
Irrigation Schemes Act 1990
Kiwifruit Industry Restructuring Act 1999
Maori Commercial Aquaculture Claims Settlement Act 2004
Maori Fisheries Act 2004
Marine Farming Act 1971 (transitional provisions only)
Meat Board Act 2004
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries (Restructuring) Act 1995
Ministries of Agriculture and Forestry (Restructuring) Act 1997
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (Restructuring) Act 1998
National Animal Identification and Tracing Act 2012
New Zealand Horticulture Export Authority Act 1987
Plants Act 1970
Pork Industry Board Act 1997
Primary Products Marketing Act 1953
Public Works Act 1981 (Part XIX)
Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture Act 1953
Taratahi Agricultural Training Centre (Wairarapa) Act 1969
Treaty of Waitangi (Fisheries Claims) Settlement Act 1992
Veterinarians Act 2005 
Walking Access Act 2008
Wool Industry Restructuring Act 2003

1  The shareholding Ministers for Animal Control Products Ltd are the Minister for Primary Industries and the Minister of Finance.

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.