Back to top anchor
Ministerial Portfolio

Local Government

Minister of Local Government
Current Minister:
Hon Anne Tolley
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Local Government
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Jacqui Dean

The Department of Internal Affairs provides the administrative support for this portfolio.

Crown entities: 


PFA schedule organisations: 


Other organisations: 

Local Government Commission


Vote Internal Affairs


Bylaws Act 1910
Chatham Islands Council Act 1995
Counties Insurance Empowering Act 1941
Dog Control Act 1996
Environment Canterbury (Transitional Governance Arrangements) Act 20161
Freedom Camping Act 2011 (jointely with the Department of Conservation)
Impounding Act 1955
Land Drainage Act 1908
Libraries and Mechanics Institutes Act 1908
Litter Act 1979
Local Authorities (Members’ Interests) Act 1968
Local Authorities Reorganisation (Property Transfers) Act 1990
Local Electoral Act 2001
Local Government Act 1974
Local Government Act 2002
Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009
Local Government (Auckland Transitional Provisions) Act 2010
Local Government Borrowing Act 2011
Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987
Local Government (Rating) Act 2002
Local Legislation Acts 1926-1992
Municipal Insurance Act 1959
Public Authorities (Party Wall) Empowering Act 1919
Public Bodies Contracts Act 1959
Public Bodies Leases Act 1969
Rangitaiki Land Drainage Act 1956
Rates Rebate Act 1973
River Boards Act 1908
Waimakariri-Ashley Water Supply Act 1961

1 Responsibility for the Act is jointly shared between the Minister for the Environment and the Minister of Local Government

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.