Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio

Land Information

Minister for Land Information
Current Minister:
Hon Damien O'Connor

Responsibilities include the system for managing land titles, geodetic and cadastral survey systems, topographic information, hydrographic information, managing Crown property, and decision-making around foreign ownership of sensitive land and business assets.


Land Information New Zealand

Other organisations: 

Cadastral Surveyors Licensing Board
New Zealand Geographic Board
Valuers Registration Board


Vote Lands


Cadastral Survey Act 2002
Canterbury Properties and Related Matters Act 2016
Crown Grants Act 1908
Crown Pastoral Land Act 1998
Deeds Registration Act 1908 (jointly with the Ministry of Justice)
Electoral Act 1993 (electoral boundaries)
Hunter Gift for the Settlement of Discharged Soldiers Act 1921
Land Act 1948
Land Transfer Act 1952 (jointly with the Ministry of Justice)
Land Transfer Act 2017
Land Transfer (Computer Registers and Electronic Lodgement) Amendment Act 2002
New Zealand Geographic Board (Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008
Public Works Act 1981
Rating Valuations Act 1998
Reserves and Other Lands Disposal Acts
Resource Management Act 1981
Unit Titles Act 20101 (subparts 1-11 of Part 2, Part 3, subparts 2 and 3 of Part 4)
Valuation Department (Restructuring) Act 1998
Valuers Act 1948

1 Administered jointly by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment and the Ministry of Justice

Last updated: 
Thursday, 12 October 2017

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.