Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio


Minister of Health
Current Minister:
Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Health (Māori Health)
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Peeni Henare
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Health (Pacific Peoples)
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Barbara Edmonds
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Health
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Willow-Jean Prime

Responsibilities include the overall functioning and operation of the health system, community health, health workforce, aged care, and mental health services.


Ministry of Health

Cancer Control Agency (a departmental agency hosted by the Ministry of Health)

Crown entities: 

District Health Boards
Health and Disability Commissioner
Health Promotion Agency
Health Quality and Safety Commission
Health Research Council of New Zealand
New Zealand Blood Service
Pharmaceutical Management Agency

PFA schedule organisations: 

Health Benefits Limited (Schedule 4A)

Other organisations: 

Advisory Committee on Assisted Reproductive Technology
Capital Investment Committee
Ethics Committee on Assisted Reproductive Technology
Expert Advisory Committee on Drugs
Health Alliance NZ
Health Alliance FPSC (Finance Procurement Supply Chain)
Health and Disability Ethics Committees
Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal
Health Workforce New Zealand
Medicines Adverse Reactions Committee
Medicines Assessment Advisory Committee
Medicines Classification Committee
Medicines Review Committee
Mental Health and Wellbeing Commission
Mental Health Review Tribunal
National Advisory Committee on Health and Disability Support Services Ethics2
National Kaitiaki Group
NZ Health Partnerships Limited
Pharmacology and Therapeutics Advisory Committee
Psychoactive Substances Appeals Committee
Psychoactive Substances Expert Advisory Committee
Radiation Safety Advisory Council

Health Responsible Authority Boards and Councils


Vote Health


Alcoholism and Drug Addiction Act 1966
Burial and Cremation Act 1964
Cancer Registry Act 1993
Care and Support Workers (Pay Equity) Settlement Act 2017
Contraception, Sterilisation, and Abortion Act 1977
COVID-19 Public Health Response Act 20202
Disabled Persons Community Welfare Act 1975 (Part 2A)
Epidemic Preparedness Act 2006
Health Act 1956
Health and Disability Commissioner Act 1994
Health and Disability Services (Safety) Act 2001
Health Benefits (Reciprocity with Australia) Act 1999
Health Benefits (Reciprocity with United Kingdom) Act 1982
Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003
Health Research Council Act 1990
Health Sector (Transfers) Act 1993
Home and Community Support (Payment for Travel Between Clients ) Settlement Act 2016
Human Assisted Reproductive Technology Act 20043
Human Tissue Act 2008
Intellectual Disability (Compulsory Care and Rehabilitation) Act 2003
Medicines Act 1981
Mental Health and Wellbeing Commission Act 2020
Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992
Misuse of Drugs Act 1975
New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000
New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Waikato DHB) Elections Act 2019
Psychoactive Substances Act 2013
Radiation Safety Act 2016
Residential Care and Disability Support Services Act 20184
Smoke-free Environments Act 1990
Social Security (Long-term Residential Care) Amendment Act 2006
Substance Addiction (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 2017

1 Commonly referred to as the National Ethics Advisory Committee
2 The Minister of Housing is responsible for Sub-part 3A of Part 2
3 In conjunction with the Ministry of Justice
4 The Act is adminisetered by the Ministry of Social Development

Last updated: 
Saturday, 17 October 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.