Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio

Workplace Relations and Safety

Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety
Current Minister:
Hon Michael Wood
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Responsibilities include the health and safety at work regulatory system and the employment relations and standards regulatory system, including the over-arching employment relations framework and prescribed minimum standards, such as the minimum wage and holidays.


Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment

Crown entities: 

WorkSafe New Zealand

Other organisations: 

Employment Relations Authority
Mines Rescue Trust
Remuneration Authority


Vote Labour Market


Employment Relations Act 20001
Equal Pay Act 1972
Health and Safety at Work Act 2015
Holidays Act 2003
Mines Rescue Act 2013
Minimum Wage Act 1983
Parental Leave and Employment Protection Act 1987
Remuneration Authority Act 1977
Sharemilking Agreements Act 1937
Shop Trading Hours Act 1990
Trade Unions Act 1908
Union Representatives Education Leave Act Repeal Act 1992
Volunteers Employment Protection Act 1973
Wages Protection Act 1983
WorkSafe New Zealand Act 2013

1 Section 198 is administered by the Ministry of Justice.

Last updated: 
Wednesday, 22 July 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.