Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio

Public Service

Minister for the Public Service
Current Minister:
Hon Chris Hipkins

Responsibilities include oversight of the State services system, ensuring the work of the State services aligns with overall government priorities, machinery of government matters, integrity and conduct, leadership and capability development (including the appointment of chief executives), and support for system-wide employment relations.  This portfolio is also responsible for the Property Functional Leadership programme.


Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission


Other organisations: 

Leadership Development Centre (a business unit of Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission)


Vote State Services


Crown Entities Act 2004 (Parts 1, 2, 3 and 5)

Fees and Travelling Allowances Act 1951

Government Service Equal Pay Act 1960

Ministry of Works and Development Abolition Act 1988

Protected Disclosures Act 2000

Public Service Act 2020

Last updated: 
Friday, 6 November 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.