Back to top anchor
Ministerial Portfolio


Minister of Forestry
Current Minister:
Hon Shane Jones

Responsibilities include promoting the sustainable stewardship of the land in relation to forestry, and developing the role of forestry in the economy and culture of New Zealand.


Te Ura Rakau (Forestry New Zealand), which the Ministry for Primary Industries provides support for this portfolio. 


Forestry Encouragement Act 1962
Forestry Rights Registration Act 1983
Forests Act 1949
Forests (West Coast Accord) Act 2000


Last updated: 
Thursday, 26 October 2017

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.