Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio

Commerce and Consumer Affairs

Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs
Current Minister:
Hon Dr David Clark

Responsibilities include corporate law and governance, financial markets, competition policy, consumer policy, protecting intellectual property, and trade policy and international regulatory cooperation.


The Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment provides the administrative support for this portfolio.

Crown entities: 

Accreditation Council
Commerce Commission
External Reporting Board
Financial Markets Authority
Retirement Commissioner
Standards Approval Board
Takeovers Panel

Other organisations: 

Joint Accreditation System of Australia and New Zealand
Copyright Tribunal
Cease and Desist Commissioners (Commerce Act 1986)
Dispute resolution schemes1
Motor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal
Temporary Safeguard Authorities


Vote Business, Science and Innovation


Auctioneers Act 1928
Auditor Regulation Act 2011
Bills of Exchange Act 19082
Building Societies Act 1965
Carriage of Goods Act 1979
Cheques Act 19603
Co-operative Companies Act 1996
Commerce Act 1986
Companies Act 1993
Companies Act Repeal Act 1993
Companies Law Reform (Transitional Provisions) Act 1994
Consumer Council Act Repeal Act 1988
Consumer Guarantees Act 1993
Consumers' Right to Know (Country of Origin of Food) Act 2018
Copyright Act 1994
Corporations (Investigation and Management) Act 1989
Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance Act 2003
Credit (Repossession) Act 1997
Designs Act 1953
Door to Door Sales Act 1967
Dumping and Countervailing Duties Act 1988
Electricity Industry Act 2010 (subpart 1 of Part 4 only)4
Fair Trading Act 1986
Financial Advisers Act 2008
Financial Markets Authority Act 2011
Financial Markets Conduct Act 2013
Financial Reporting Act 2013
Financial Service Providers (Registration and Dispute Resolution) Act 2008
Friendly Societies and Credit Unions Act 1982
Geographical Indications (Wine and Spirits) Registration Act 2006
Imports and Exports (Restrictions) Act 19885
Incorporated Societies Act 1908
Industrial and Provident Societies Act 1908
Insolvency Act 2006
Insolvency (Cross-border) Act 2006
Insolvency Practitioners Regulation Act 2019
Insurance Intermediaries Act 1994
Insurance Law Reform Act 1977
Insurance Law Reform Act 1985
KiwiSaver Act 2006 (Part 4, aspects of Part 5, Schedules 1 and 2)6
Law Reform Act 1936 (Part 3)
Layby Sales Act 1971
Layout Designs Act 1994
Life Insurance Act 1908
Limited Partnerships Act 2008
Marine Insurance Act 1908
Mercantile Law Act 1908
Motor Vehicle Sales Act 2003
New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants Act 1996
New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2011 (part 4 and Schedule 6)7
Partnership Law Act 2019
Patents Act 1953
Patents Act 2013
Personal Property Securities Act 1999
Plant Variety Rights Act 1987
Receiverships Act 1993
Sale of Goods Act 1908
Sale of Goods (United Nations Convention) Act 1994
Securities Act 1978
Securities Markets Act 1988
Securities Transfer Act 1991
Securities Trustees and Statutory Supervisors Act 2011
Standards Act 1988
Takeovers Act 1993
Tariff Act 1988
Temporary Safeguard Authorities Act 1987
Testing Laboratory Registration Act 1972
Trade and Industry Act Repeal Act 1988
Trade Marks Act 2002
Trustee Companies Management Act 1975
Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997
Unit Trusts Act 1960
Unsolicited Goods and Services Act 1975
Weights and Measures Act 1987

1 The Minister nominates Consumer representatives for the dispute resolution schemes operated through the banking ombudsmen, insurance and savings ombudsmen, electricity and gas commissioner, telecommunications dispute resolution service.

2,3 The Acts are administered by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.

4 The Minister of Energy and Resources is responsible for the administration of the rest of the Electricity Industry Act 2010.

5 The Ministry for the Environment has policy and administrative responsibility for the Imports and Exports (Restrictions) Prohibition Order (No 2) 2004.

Overall responsibility for the administration of the KiwiSaver Act 2006 lies with the Revenue portfolio. The Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and the Minister of Finance are jointly responsible for the appointment of default KiwiSaver providers under section 177 of the Act.

 7 Provisions relating to the Retirement Commissioner

Last updated: 
Monday, 12 October 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.