Back to top anchor

Queen's Birthday Honours 2017 - Citations for Dame Companions of the New Zealand Order of Merit

To be a Dame Companion of the said Order:

CHRISTIE, Mrs Julie Claire Molloy, ONZM

For services to governance and the television industry

Mrs Julie Christie was appointed an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2007 for her services to film and television.

Mrs Christie was founder, and CEO of international television production company Touchdown from 1991 until 2013, exporting programmes and licensing intellectual property to 30 countries. She was a member of the organising board of the Rugby World Cup 2011 and has been a member of the New Zealand Rugby Union commercial committee since 2012. She was a Board member of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise from 2009 to 2015 and is a current advisory board member of The New Zealand Story Group which protects the intellectual property of the Silver Fern and assists exporters to define their New Zealand Story through media assets. Mrs Christie is also a current Board member of Mediaworks radio and television and was a member of the New Zealand Flag Consideration Panel. 


Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit, Queens Birthday 2007

Back to Honours List

To be a Dame Companion of the said Order:

KOOPMAN-BOYDEN, Emeritus Professor Peggy Gwendoline, CNZM

For services to seniors

Emeritus Professor Peggy Koopman-Boyden has given more than 45 years of service to research and policy advice relating to New Zealand’s older population and was appointed a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to the elderly in 1997.

Professor Koopman-Boyden led major research projects for the Foundation for Research, Science and Technology during the 1990s and 2000s and recently completed a multi-year programme of research on active ageing funded by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment. In 2005 she became the founding President of the Waikato Branch of the New Zealand Association of Gerontology, a position she held until 2012. She has been a member of the Age Concern Advisory Research Committee since 2010. Since 2008 she has been Chair of AgeWISE, a strategic advisory group to the Waikato District Health Board. She has been Chair of Hamilton City Council’s Older Persons Advisory Panel from 2013 to 2016, and now chairs the Steering Group of Hamilton’s Age Friendly accreditation project for the World Health Organisation. In 2013 she was appointed as a Foundation Board Member of the Institute of Healthy Ageing. From 2001 to 2003 Professor Koopman-Boyden was Chair of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Complementary and Alternative Health and in 2007 she chaired the Australian Complementary and Alternative Grant Review Panel for their National Health and Medical Research Council.


Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit, New Year 1997

New Zealand 1990 Commemoration Medal

Back to Honours List

Last updated: 
Monday, 19 June 2017

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.