Back to top anchor
Ministerial Portfolio

State Owned Enterprises

Minister for State Owned Enterprises
Current Minister:
Rt Hon Winston Peters
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister for State Owned Enterprises
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Shane Jones

Responsibilities include setting expectations and priorities for SOEs.


The Treasury, through the Commercial Operations Group, provides the administrative support for this portfolio.

State Owned Enterprises: 

The shareholding Ministers for each State-Owned Enterprise and Crown Company are the responsible Minister and the Minister of Finance.

Airways Corporation of New Zealand Ltd
AsureQuality Ltd
Electricity Corporation of New Zealand Ltd (Residual)
Kiwirail Ltd
Kordia Group Ltd
Landcorp Farming Ltd
Meteorological Service of New Zealand Ltd
New Zealand Post Ltd
New Zealand Railways Corporation
Quotable Value Limited
Solid Energy New Zealand Ltd
Transpower New Zealand Ltd

PFA schedule organisations: 

Crown Asset Management Ltd (Schedule 4A)1
Crown Infrastructure Partners Ltd (Schedule 4A)
Genesis Energy Ltd (Schedule 5)
Mercury New Zealand Ltd (Schedule 5)
Meridian Energy Ltd (Schedule 5)

Other organisations: 

Christchurch International Airport Ltd
Dunedin International Airport Ltd
Hawke's Bay Airport Ltd


Vote Finance


New Zealand Railways Corporation Act 19812
New Zealand Railways Corporation Restructuring Act 1990
State-Owned Enterprises Act 1986


1 The shareholding Ministers are the Minister of Finance and the Minister for State Owned Enterprises.
2 The Ministry of Transport is the lead agency for rail policy advice.

Last updated: 
Thursday, 26 April 2018

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.