Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio


Minister of Housing
Current Minister:
Hon Dr Megan Woods
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Housing (Māori Housing)
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Peeni Henare
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Housing (Homelessness)
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Marama Davidson

Responsibilities include the provision of mechanisms for the effective further development and implementation of the government build programme, and general responsibility for housing matters, tackling homelessness and the provision of public housing.


Ministry of Housing and Urban Development

Crown entities: 

Kāinga Ora - Homes and Communities

PFA schedule organisations: 

Tāmaki Redevelopment Company Limited (Schedule 4A)


Vote Housing and Urban Development


Housing Accords and Special Housing Areas Act 2013
Housing Act 1955
Housing Assets Transfer Act 1993
Kāinga Ora - Homes and Communities Act 2019
Point England Development Enabling Act 2017
Public and Community Housing Management Act 1992
Residential Tenancies Act 1986
Retirement Villages Act 2003
Unit Titles Act 2010
Urban Development Act 2020



Last updated: 
Wednesday, 2 December 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.