Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio


Minister of Agriculture
Current Minister:
Hon Damien O'Connor
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister of Agriculture (Animal Welfare)
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Meka Whaitiri

Responsibilities include protecting and promoting the productivity, sustainability and export performance of New Zealand's agricultural sector.


The Ministry for Primary Industries provides support for this portfolio. 

Crown entities: 

Crown Irrigation Investments Limited
New Zealand Walking Access Commission Ara Hīkoi Aotearoa

PFA schedule organisations: 

Agricultural and Marketing Research and Development Trust (Schedule 4)


Vote Agriculture, Biosecurity, Fisheries and Food Safety


Agricultural and Pastoral Societies Act 1908
Animal Identification Act 1993
Animal Welfare Act 1999
Commodity Levies Act 1990
Dairy Industry Restructuring Act 2001
Farm Debt Mediation Act 2019
Irrigation Schemes Act 1990
Kiwifruit Industry Restructuring Act 1999
Meat Board Act 2004
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries (Restructuring) Act 1995
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries (Restructuring) Act 1997
Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries (Restructuring) Act 1998
National Animal Identification and Tracing Act 2012
New Zealand Horticulture Export Authority Act 1987
Plants Act 1970
Pork Industry Board Act 1997
Primary Products Marketing Act 1953
Public Works Act 1981 (Part XIX)
Taratahi Agricultural Training Centre (Wairarapa) Act 1969
Telford Farm Training Institute Act 1963
Veterinarians Act 2005
Walking Access Act 2008
Wool Industry Restructuring Act 2003

Last updated: 
Tuesday, 27 October 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.