Skip to Content

Ministerial List

On 24 April 2017, the Prime Minister announced changes to the Ministerial List. These changes took effect on 2 May 2017. 

The current Ministerial List at 2 May 2017 is available in PDF format: Ministerial List at 2 May 2017 (63 KB)


  1. All Ministers are members of the Executive Council.
  2. The Parliamentary Under-Secretary is part of executive government, but is not a member of the Executive Council.
  3. Portfolios are listed in the left hand column. Other responsibilities assigned by the Prime Minister are listed in the right hand column.


The Cabinet
Portfolios Other responsibilities
1 Rt Hon Bill English
2 Hon Paula Bennett
Deputy Prime Minister
3 Hon Steven Joyce
4 Hon Gerry Brownlee
5 Hon Simon Bridges
Leader of the House
6 Hon Amy Adams
7 Hon Dr Jonathan Coleman
8 Hon Christopher Finlayson QC
9 Hon Michael Woodhouse
Deputy Leader of the House
10 Hon Anne Tolley
11 Hon Nathan Guy
12 Hon Nikki Kaye
13 Hon Todd McClay
14 Hon Dr Nick Smith
15 Hon Judith Collins
16 Hon Maggie Barry
17 Hon Paul Goldsmith
18 Hon Louise Upston
19 Hon Alfred Ngaro
20 Hon Mark Mitchell
Ministers Outside Cabinet
Portfolios Other responsibilities
21 Hon Nicky Wagner
22 Hon Jacqui Dean
23 Hon David Bennett
24 Hon Tim Macindoe
25 Hon Scott Simpson
Support Party Ministers
Portfolios Other responsibilities
Hon Peter Dunne
Hon Te Ururoa Flavell
Parliamentary Under-Secretary
Portfolios Other responsibilities
David Seymour MP
Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Education and the Minister for Regulatory Reform