Skip to Content
MinisterMinister for the Environment
Current MinisterHon Dr Nick Smith

Ministry for the Environment

Crown Entities

Environmental Protection Authority

PFA schedule organisations


Other Organisations

The Fiordland Marine Guardians


Vote Environment


Aquaculture Reform (Repeals and Transitional Provisions) Act 2004
Environment Act 1986
Environment Canterbury (Temporary Commissions and Improved Water Management) Act 2010
Environment Canterbury (Transitional Governance Arrangments) Act 20161
Environmental Protection Authority Act 2011
Exclusive Economic Zone and Continental Shelf (Environmental Effects) Act 2012
Fiordland (Te Moana o Atawhenua) Marine Management Act 2005
Hazardous Substances and New Organisms Act 1996
Ozone Layer Protection Act 1996
Resource Management Act 1991
Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941
Waste Minimisation Act 2008

1 Responsibility for the Act is jointly shared between the Minister for the Environment and the Minister of Local Government.

The Ministry for the Environment also has policy and administrative responsibility for the Imports and Exports (Restrictions) Prohibition Order (No 2) 2004.  Parliamentary responsibility for the Order lies with the Commerce portfolio.