

Meeting of the COVID-19 Ministerial Group

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Exemptions to Temporary Border Restrictions for Essential Workers

The group of Ministers with Power to Act on COVID-19 matters [CAB-20-MIN-0130] convened on 25 March 2020 at 10.30am and, in accordance with their Power to Act:

- 1 **noted** that on 19 March 2020, Cabinet agreed to further border restrictions to prevent travel to New Zealand for anyone other than:
 - 1.1 New Zealand citizens and residence class visa holders;
 - 1.2 the partner, legal guardian or any dependent children travelling with a New Zealand citizen or residence class visa holder;
 - 1.3 Australian citizens and permanent residence class visa holders ordinarily resident in New Zealand;
 - 1.4 people subject to regulation 25 of the Immigration (Visa, Entry Permission, and Related Matters) Regulations 2010, which includes air and marine crew;

[CAB-20-MIN-0122] ◆

- 2 **noted** that on 19 March 2020, Cabinet also agreed to high level parameters for case-by-case exemptions to COVID-19 border restrictions, which include:
 - 2.1 those who need to travel for humanitarian reasons;
 - 2.2 essential health workers;

citizens of Samoa and Tonga for essential travel to New Zealand;

- those on visitor visas who are partners or dependents of a temporary work or student visa holder, and who normally live in New Zealand;
- 2.5 any other essential workers identified by the group of Ministers with Power to Act on COVID-19 matters;

[CAB-20-MIN-0130]

- 3 **noted** that in advance of the process being developed to implement paragraph 2 above, officials have received two requests to make exemptions to the travel restrictions to enable travel for:
 - 3.1 10 workers in the gas sector to work on the Pohokura pipeline maintenance project;
 - 3.2 one maritime pilot to work in the maritime freight sector;
- 4 **noted** that these requests are supported by the Infrastructure Pillar of the COVID-19 government response, as the project is critical for supporting New Zealand's gas supply and wider energy security and continuity of maritime freight;
- 5 **noted** that the workers would be required to self-isolate on arrival in New Zealand before commencing work, and to have a self-isolation plan, approved in advance of their arrival;
- 6 **agreed** to make an exemption to the COVID-19 border restrictions for the 10 workers who have been identified as critical for the Pohokura pipeline maintenance project;
- 7 **agreed** to make an exemption to the COVID-19 border restrictions for one maritime pilot;
- 8 **noted** that the Minister of Immigration will sign a Special Direction to give effect to the decisions in paragraphs 6 and 7 above.

Michael Webster Secretary of the Cabinet

Distribution:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern (Chair) Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Grant Robertson Hon Chris Hipkins Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon Dr David Clark Hon James Shaw

Copied to officials via email

Officials:

Office of the Prime Minister Chief Executive, DPMC Chief Executive, Ministry of Health Commissioner of Police All of Government Controller