Back to top anchor
Cabinet decisions

Cabinet Decision CAB-19-SUB-0119: Proposed Overseas Travel: Prime Minister (March 2019)

Issue date: 
Wednesday, 8 May 2019
Issue status: 
Version note: 

Some parts of this information release would not be appropriate to release and, if requested, would be withheld under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act). Where this is the case, the relevant sections of the Act that would apply have been identified. Where information has been withheld, no public interest has been identified that would outweigh the reasons for withholding it.

Cabinet minute dated 25 March 2019; Cabinet paper lodged 22 March 2019.

This Cabinet paper and related Cabinet minute have been proactively released by
the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, on behalf of Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern,
Prime Minister.

Accessible HTML version

Only the Cabinet minute is extracted below in HTML.  If you require a full HTML version of this Cabinet decision release please contact and cite CAB-19-SUB-0119 as a reference.

Extract from Cabinet Minute CAB-19-MIN-0119 Proposed Overseas Travel: Prime Minister

On 25 March 2019, Cabinet:

1 authorised the absence of the Prime Minister from New Zealand, from the morning of Sunday 31 March until the evening of Tuesday 2 April 2019, to make a bilateral visit to Beijing, China;

2 agreed that she be accompanied by her Deputy Chief of Staff and Deputy Chief Press Secretary;

3 noted that she will be accompanied by her partner;

4 approved the estimated expenditure of up to [withheld under 9(2)(f)(iv)] for the Prime Ministerial party as a charge to Vote: Internal Affairs (Members of the Executive – Travel);

5 noted that she will also be accompanied by Diplomatic Protection Service officers, and officials from the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, whose travel costs will be met by their respective votes;

6 noted that the host government will assist with some facilitation, accommodation and ground transport costs;

7 agreed that in her absence:

7.1 Rt Hon Winston Peters act as Prime Minister and Minister for National Security and Intelligence;

7.2 Hon Grant Robertson act as Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage;

7.3 Hon Tracey Martin as Minister for Child Poverty Reduction.

Last updated: 
Wednesday, 8 May 2019

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.