Back to top anchor

Cabinet National Security Committee

The Cabinet National Security Committee (NSC) is a formally constituted Cabinet committee.

It has oversight of the national intelligence and security sector, including policy and legislative proposals relating to the sector. The NSC coordinates and directs national responses to major crises or circumstances affecting national security (either domestic or international).

The NSC is chaired by the Prime Minister and includes senior Ministers with relevant portfolio responsibilities: Finance, Defence, Economic Development, Communications, Attorney-General/the intelligence agencies, Foreign Affairs, Police and Immigration – with the addition of other relevant portfolio Ministers as appropriate

The NSC will have Power to Act, without further reference to the full Cabinet, where the need for urgent action and/or operational or security considerations require it.

For more information download the National Security System Handbook.

Last updated: 
Thursday, 25 August 2016

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.