Back to top anchor
Ministerial Portfolio

Social Development

Minister for Social Development
Current Minister:
Hon Carmel Sepuloni
Associate Minister:
Associate Minister for Social Development
Current Associate Minister:
Hon Poto Williams

Responsibilities include oversight of New Zealand’s social welfare system, and the government's approach to social investment.


Ministry of Social Development

Social Wellbeing Agency

Crown entities: 

Families Commission
New Zealand Artificial Limb Board
Social Workers Registration Board

Other organisations: 

Social Security Appeal Authority
Student Allowance Appeals Authority
Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal


Vote Social Development


Ministry of Social Development
Department of Social Welfare Act 1971
Disabled Persons Community Welfare Act 1975, Parts I, III and IV
Education Act 1989, Part XXV (Student Allowances)
Employment Services and Income Support (Integrated Administration) Act 1998
Families Commission Act 2003
Family Benefits (Home Ownership) Act 1964
New Zealand Sign Language Act 2006
New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2001 (Part 1 and Schedule 1)
Social Security Act 1964
Social Welfare (Reciprocity Agreements, and New Zealand Artificial Limb Service) Act 1990
Social Workers Registration Act 2003
Student Loan Scheme Act 2011

Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment
Disabled Persons Employment Promotion Repeal Act 2007

Last updated: 
Thursday, 12 October 2017

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.