Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio

Research, Science and Innovation

Minister of Research, Science and Innovation
Current Minister:
Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Responsibilities include leading the science and innovation system and setting the direction for government investment.


The Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment provides the administrative support for this portfolio, including the Crown entities.  The Commercial Operations Group in the Treasury provides a secondary monitoring role and leads the appointments process for the companies in the portfolio (the Crown Research Institutes and the Research and Education Advanced Network for New Zealand (REANNZ)).

Crown entities: 

Crown Research Institutes1
Callaghan Innovation

PFA schedule organisations: 

Research and Education Advanced Network New Zealand Ltd2 (Schedule 4A)

Other organisations: 

Health Research Council3
Marsden Fund Council
Measurement Standards Laboratory of New Zealand4
Royal Society of New Zealand5
Science Board


Vote Business, Science and Innovation


Building Research Levy Act 1969
Callaghan Innovation Act 2012
Crown Research Institutes Act 1992
Heavy Engineering Research Levy Act 1978
Measurement Standards Act 1992
Research, Science and Technology Act 2010
Wheat Industry Research Levies Act 1989

1 The shareholding Ministers for Crown Research Institutes are the responsible Minister and the Minister of Finance.

2 Crown-owned company to operate Kiwi Advanced Research and Education Network (KAREN). The shareholding Ministers are the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Science and Innovation. MBIE has oversight of REANNZ, with support from Treasury. Treasury has responsibility for board appointments.

3 The Health Reasearch Council receives funding through Vote Business, Science and Innovation. The Minister of Science and Innovation and the Minister of Health are responsible jointly for the efficient and effective functioning of the HRC. A Memorandum of Understanding sets out the responsibilities of both Ministers.

4 The Measurement Standards Laboratory of New Zealand is part of Callaghan Innovation.

5 The Royal Society is an independent organisation which administers the Marsden Fund on behalf of the Minister of Science and Innovation.

Last updated: 
Thursday, 12 October 2017

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.