Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio

Energy and Resources

Minister of Energy and Resources
Current Minister:
Hon Dr Megan Woods

Responsibilities include oversight of the management of the Crown mineral estate, allocation and management of petroleum and mineral permits, management of relevant geoscience data, ensuring well-functioning and competitive energy markets, promoting energy productivity and efficiency improvements, and supporting the transition to a lower emissions economy. 


The Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment provides the administrative support for this portfolio.

Crown entities: 

Electricity Authority
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority

Other organisations: 

Gas Industry Company
Gas Rulings Panel
Electricity Rulings Panel


Vote Business, Science and Innovation


Atomic Energy Act 1945
Climate Change Response Act 2002 (Part 6 only)1
Crown Minerals Act 1991
Electricity Act 1992
Electricity Industry Act 20102
Energy Companies Act 1992
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act 2000
Energy (Fuels, Levies, and References) Act 1989
Energy Resources Levy Act 1976
Fuel Industry Act 2020
Gas Act 1992
International Energy Agreement Act 1976
Lake Taupo Compensation Claims Act 1947
Manapouri – Te Anau Development Act 1963
Ngai Tahu (Pounamu Vesting) Act 1997
Petroleum Demand Restraint Act 1981
Petroleum Demand Restraint (Regulations Validation and Revocation) Act 1981
Petroleum Sector Reform Act 1988
Synthetic Fuels Plant (Effluent Disposal) Empowering Act 1983

1 The Minister for Climate Change is responsible for the overall administration of the Climate Change Response Act 2002.

2 The Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs is responsible for subpart 1 of Part 4.

Last updated: 
Wednesday, 7 October 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.