Back to top anchor
Ministerial portfolio

Disarmament and Arms Control

Minister for Disarmament and Arms Control
Current Minister:
Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Responsibilities include leading New Zealand's anti-nuclear stance and the implementation of the New Zealand Nuclear Free Zone, Disarmament, and Arms Control Act 1987.


Support for this portfolio is provided by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Other organisations: 

Public Advisory Committee on Disarmament and Arms Control


This portfolio is funded through Vote Foreign Affairs and Trade


Anti-Personnel Mines Prohibition Act 1998
Brokering (Weapons and Related Items) Controls Act 2018
Chemical Weapons (Prohibition) Act 1996
Cluster Munitions Prohibition Act 2009
New Zealand Nuclear Free Zone, Disarmament and Arms Control Act 1987
Nuclear-Test Ban Act 1999

Last updated: 
Monday, 12 October 2020

Help us improve DPMC

Your feedback is very important in helping us improve the DPMC website.